Technology & Innovation » Technology Steering Committee

Technology Steering Committee


The goal of the Technology Steering Committee is to provide a stabilizing influence so District 96's organizational concepts and directions are established, and maintained with a visionary global view. The Committee aims to provide direction on long-term strategies in support of the District’s strategic plan, vision and State mandates. Members of the Committee strive to ensure that the District’s technology needs and objectives are being adequately addressed. In practice these responsibilities are carried out by performing the following functions:

  • Identify and develop strategic initiatives
  • Prioritization of initiatives
  • Monitor and review initiatives at regular Committee meetings
  • Develop and review standards and policies
  • Update standards and policies as emergent issues force changes to be considered, ensuring alignment with the Committee Charter as well as the objectives of the District
  • Ensure quality of deliverables
  • Assist with obtaining buy-in across the organization
  • Act as a sounding board
  • Ensure transparency
Committee Members
Don Tufano, Director of Technology & Innovation Merryl Brownlow, Asst. Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction
Dave Barsotti, School Board Member Dan Hunt, School Board Member
Jason Smit, Instructional Technology Coordinator Chris McCarthy, Community Member
Karen Bassing, Teacher / Blythe Park Elementary Kelly King, Instructional Technology Specialist
Mikaela Kolany, Teacher / Hauser Jr. High